Six Until Me

19 04 2012

I’ve been a huge fan of Kerri Sparling, owner of the diabetes blog Six Until Me for year. I’m pretty sure she had a Medtronic pump and was engaged at the time I started reading her blog. She is now happily married with a beautiful two-year-old. We’ve accomplished that in the DOC (Diabetes Online Community) it’s ok to be lurkers. ;). I’ve loved being able to watch her life completely change in so many good ways over the years. She was the first and only diabetes blog I knew of for quite a while. In fact, I was satisfied with only knowing hers because I love her writing style and sense of humor and I can relate to every single post. Well, with the exception, of course, of the posts related to marriage and pregnancy. I am neither married nor pregnant. But that’s besides the point.

I receive incessant emails about diabetes-related events in my area from advocacy to support groups. One recent one caught my eye.

“An Evening For Type 1 Adults”

Most events I go to are for children and do not pertain to me whatsoever. I’m fine sharing my expertise with parents but I’ve never personally gotten any support out of it. I’ve tried countless time to start a teen support group, with no success or support, for lack of a better term. This one caught my eye because Kerri Sparling will be attending to discuss the DOC and social media.

Now I’ve met my fair share of celebrities in my lifetime (see tumblr) that my friends are quite jealous of but this was an opportunity like no idea. Unless you’re diabetic or love a diabetic, you probably haven’t heard of Kerri. But this young woman is a role model of mine and I was ecstatic to be able to meet her.

I arrived at a condo clubhouse about twenty minutes from my mom’s office, where I also work, on Tuesday night. I was greeted by some familiar faces and many unfamiliar faces. One, of course, being Kerri. She led the conversation along with another diabetes blogger, Karen. There was a hodgepodge of diabetics at this meeting. Many were older and one even had Type 2. One of which was my dear friend Bunny, Type 1 Diabetic and grandmother to 2 Type 1s as well. I was the youngest by around 10 years. I didn’t mind though. Everyone was welcome and everyone felt comfortable. My mother was my ‘significant other’ and one kind young woman Sandra brought her 8-month-old as her significant other.

Although I know a ton about social media already (hello I’m 17 here), it was still enlightening and pleasurable. I loved taking part in the discussion and I loved hearing everyone’s insight. Kerri even pointed me out when discussing twitter because she recognized me. Overall, it was an incredible experience and I would definitely go again if presented the opportunity. After two or so hours of circle-style discussion, there was some mingling before everyone returned to their homes. I of course waited for a chance to talk to Kerri and gush over how great it was to meet her.

The entire experience empowered me and if I hadn’t been diagnosed with this horrible disease 16 years ago, I would have never met such a wonderful online community.

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 04 2012
Kerri.

You are unbelievably sweet – it was great meeting you, and thanks for being nice when I called you out as my Twitter friend. (And YAY! You have a blog!!!)

14 05 2012
Bunny Kasper

One of the nicest things that’s happened to me since my diagnosis to to be called your very dear friend!

14 05 2012
Tears of Joy « My Bloody Beautiful Life

[…] read their blogs, you have yet to have gotten your feet wet in the DOC. I talked about this in a previous post that I went to an adult outreach meeting where Karen and Kerri were guest speakers to talk about […]

Leave a Reply

