The Elephant in the … Bra?

10 05 2012

My senior prom is coming up and I have a gorgeous dress with gorgeous shoes to match.

The absolute last thing on my mind throughout this process has been diabetes.

Today I went to get my dress tailored (I’m 5′ 2.75″ and gowns are meant for girls who are 5′ 10″) and out of habit, I clipped my pump onto the middle of my bra. The entire pump was showing. Granted, the dress is a little low cut and I’m getting some more fabric in the front, but the pump has never felt this bulky and obnoxious before. I unhooked my pump and put it with my clothes while the tailor did her examination.

I love wearing dresses and I always just cram my pump into my bra. For the case of prom, though, I’m going to have to wear a thigh band. I have never worn one and I don’t currently own one so hopefully I can get one shipped before prom.

Does anyone have any recommendations for pump thigh bands that are well-made and efficiently shipped? Suggestions would be terrific.

Actions

Information

6 responses

10 05 2012
Bridget Winter

I’ve seen some really good ones on here: http://www.pumpwearinc.com/pumpshop/index.php?l=product_list&c=23 Don’t have to worry about this on our end as my son is the T1. But I came across these when looking for him.

10 05 2012
mp34life

I wish I could hide my pump there. I’m a guy so it might not work out so well to wear a bra.

I usual put all my diabetes stuff in my pants pockets. Some times I think maybe it looks like something “else” is going on down there. But whatever. I’m not going to start carrying a diabetic man purse.

14 05 2012
Rose- diabud

I usually wear a headband- the elastic/exercise kind. Then I just clip on with my normal clip. Definitely try this if you are short on time…. and great blog!

16 05 2012
Vera

Hopefully I’m not to late with my hint: Get one of those self-adhesive hold-up stockings, like those: http://www.esprito.de/images/product_images/original_images/388_1.jpg Pick out one with a really broad band, and cut it of. You can wear it underneath your usual thights and put your pump in even without the clip. I do it all the time, it’s almost invisible even in slim dresses, you can get it at any supermarket and it holds quite safely as long as you don’t combine sweating too much with jumping up and down.
Have fun at the prom!!

12 06 2012
Hiatus: A Summary « My Bloody Beautiful Life

[…] Prom: I bought a thigh pump band to wear under my gown, as mentioned in a previous post. The thigh band was an absolute bitch. (Pardon my French.) I secured the velcro around my thigh as […]

5 06 2013
Diabetes Measurement

I’m extremely inspired together with your writing talents and also with the layout in your weblog. Is this a paid subject or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice
blog like this one nowadays..

Leave a Reply

