Tears of Joy

14 05 2012

I’m so thankful for all the friends I’ve made in the DOC. I am blessed that I’ve met them somewhat early in life because many people had to wait til their twenties, thirties, or even longer before meeting anyone else with D. The support system I have gotten through the DOC is incredible and I don’t know what I’d do without you guys. I love being able to relate to people in a genuine way. We share laughs, smiles, tears, and frustrations. None of it is artificial or forced. I don’t automatically connect with every PWD I’ve met and for some reason, it’s been much easier to connect with the PWD that I’ve met in the DOC. It’s great to be able to connect with people emotionally no matter what age they are or what part of the world they live in.

After an unsuccessful attempt at making a D-blog in the past and a reasonably successful tumblr that incorporates all of me, rather than the D-side, I finally got the boost I needed to make this blog about a month ago. I met Karen of Bittersweet Diabetes and Kerri of Six Until Me, who are two phenomenal D-bloggers. If you haven’t read their blogs, you have yet to have gotten your feet wet in the DOC. I talked about this in a previous post that I went to an adult outreach meeting where Karen and Kerri were guest speakers to talk about social media and the DOC. The energy I got after attending that meeting gave me the perseverance I needed to make this *successful* D-blog. So here we are now.

I’ve already gotten recognition from Kerri and Karen for this blog which makes me feel so great! Thank you so much for everything. I was wondering why I had 72 blog views today and it turns out Karen put me first on her Find A Friend list. Here’s what she wrote. It’s so sweet, I think I might need some insulin. (Sorry I couldn’t resist the awful D-pun).

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 05 2012
Drew

Glad you were able to get it going! Looking forward to reading the rest of your posts! Karen is awesome!

16 05 2012
Karen

I’m so glad you decided to try a DBlog again!! Sorry I made you cry though šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

