Wimps

8 07 2012

Stumbled across online. The bee provides cooling and vibrating sensations so kids don’t feel pain (and don’t throw a tantrum) at the doctor’s office when they get a finger stick. Here’s the link. I got it off StumbleUpon.

Seriously?

The average person has, I don’t know, maybe 10 finger sticks in their lifetime.

Try 10 a day. 7 days a week. 4 weeks a month. 12 months a year. Every year until death.

Do I need a bumblebee to soothe me when I get a finger stick?

No.

Did I need one when I was diagnosed at 14 months?

No.

Did I deal with the pain?

Yes.

Do I deal with the pain every day?

Yes.

Do I ever cry, whine, fuss, or throw a tantrum?

No.

Do people acknowledge my strength?

Rarely.

Rather, do people judge, exclude, or stereotype me for being diabetic?

Yes.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 07 2012
Lexi

Hi, I just found your blog today and I love it! Your voice is amazing and your posts are so relatable. Yes I read all of your posts, nerdy me 🙂 this is the first blog I’ve found from a teenager so I’ll definitely be back! (I’m 18 and have had T1D for just over 1 yr) Thanks for what you are doing and keep up the good work!

19 10 2013
Bedisonsmom@gmail.com

My five year old really struggled with getting used to shots four times a day when diagnosed earlier this year. We decided that this was something he was going to have to live with for the rest of his life so we weren’t going to hold him down. For over a month we’d take it slow and sometimes his insulin would be delivered as much as an hour late while he came to terms with each injection.

The lantus was always the scariest and we ended up with buzzy to help. In no time at all we could retire buzzy (he is saving him for his annual blood draw). Shots take mere seconds today. Do I think we could have done it without … Sure, but I also think we could have had a five year old who was more angry with this terrible illness then he already is.

Leave a Reply

